Your question: What is the meaning of northern mountains?

The northern mountains in the north of India extend from northwest to northeast of. India. The Himalayas, the karakoram mountains and the the northeastern. mountain ranges are together called the Northern Mountains.

Why are the northern mountains?

The importance of Northern mountains in India are given below : It is the most prominent source for Glacial rivers – enough rainfall and vast snow-fields in these mountains are the source of perennial rivers. The melting of the snow provides enough water during the season.

What is the significance of the northern mountains answer?

The Himalaya mountain ranges have always been considered as the abode of Gods and saints. Large numbers of shrines have developed in these mountains. Some of them are Amarnath, Vaishnodevi, Badrinath, Kedarnath, Jwalaji, Gangotri, Yamunotri, Uttarkashi, etc.

What is the other name of Northern mountain?

Name the mountain ranges that form the Northern mountains. Ans- The Himalayas,the Karakoram Mountains and the North eastern mountain ranges together form the Northern mountains . 2.Name the first woman to climb Mount Everest.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is paintball CO2 safe?

What are the two advantages of northern mountains?

(i) Climatic barrier : The Himalayas are a great climatic barrier. They save our country from the cold and dry winds of Central Asia, It also prevents the rain-laden monsoon winds of Indian Ocean from crossing over to Northern countries and causes heavy rain-fall in the Northern India.

What are the relief features of northern mountains?

They stretch in a continuous form east to west in a 2500 km belt of ranges. They have low rainfall and thus have less natural vegetation and subdivided into the Hindu Kush, Koh safed, Waziristan hills, salaiman Himalayas, kerther mountains.

What is the importance of northern mountains of Pakistan?

The northern mountain barrier influences the precipitation pattern in Pakistan by intercepting monsoon (rain-bearing) winds from the south. Melting snow and glacial meltwater from the mountains also feed the rivers, including the Indus, which emerge from the east-west-aligned ranges to flow southward.

How many states are in northern mountain?

The Himalayan North region comprises the two states and two union territories of India situated at the northernmost Himalayan mountain: Himachal Pradesh, Jammu and Kashmir, Ladakh and Uttarakhand.

What is the climate of northern mountains?

It has a cold desert climate. It is a region of barren, arid, frigid and wind-blown wastelands. Areas south of the Himalayas are largely protected from cold winter winds coming from the interior of Asia.

What is the height of Northern mountains?

Outer Himalayas or Siwaliks of Northern Mountains in India have an average height of 900-1100 m and a width of 10-50 km. They are highly descending in their structure and are having many Gorges and Canyons.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Is it okay to drag a kayak on the ground?

What is the main occupation of people living in northern mountains and why?

Answer: People living on mountains do agriculture as well as rearing of animals, though on a small scale. This is because they need both the agricultural produce as well as milk and meat from animals for subsistence.

What kind of crops are grown in the northern mountains?

The crops that are grown in northern plains of India are rice(paddy), wheat, millets(jowar, bajra, ragi), sugarcane, cotton.

Lifestyle Extreme